March 23, 2017

    Posted in: Tennis

    British tennis star and world number one Sir Andy Murray is the favourite to lift the Indian Wells tournament – the biggest non-major event in the ATP.

    All the biggest stars are expected to line up for the event – the first in the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 of the year.

    The new generation of talented players in Nick Kyrgios and Dominic Thiem would be facing off with usual veterans Murray, Novak Djokovic, Rafa Nadal, 2017 Australian Open winner Roger Federer and others.

    American Sam Querrey – who just won the Mexico Open and moved from no. 40 to no. 26 in the rankings – would be going into the tournament with great confidence. Federer would be hoping to find his form again after a second round loss in the Dubai Duty Free Championships against Evgeny Donskoy ranked outside the top 100.

    2017 started slow for Murray but after his Dubai victory, he is expected to build on it. He defeated Fernando Verdasco 6-3, 6-2 to clinch the title. He is the top seed for the event and a clear favourite.

    Djokovic would be hoping to overturn a poor showing in Acapulco. Since winning Roland Garros last June to complete the career Grand Slam, he seemed to have slowed down. Hopefully, his new top priority in family would allow him do well in Indian Wells.

    Stan Wawrinka lost in the first round in Dubai where he was the defending champion. He would have to recover from such poor display on time. He is seeded third, ahead of Milos Raonic, Kei Nishikori and Rafael Nadal.

    Nadal reached the final in Mexico but lost to Querrey. He has not made the final in Indian Wells since 2013. His long-time coach and Uncle Toni is expected to leave his team by the end of the year but the Spain international would have to impress in the Indian Wells as his career winds down.

    Rotterdam and Marseille favoured Jo-Wilfried Tsonga but it is unknown how he would fare against the big weights. He is the seventh seed, ahead of 2014 US Open winner Marin Cilic.




  • Comments are closed.